Landing and Pivoting

Now that the game has finally landed in stores, let’s talk about landing in the game!

“I’m a dragon! The sky is my domain! Why would I ever land?”

That’s a valid point, oh great and wise dragon, but there are a few cases where you might want to land.

You’re out of room to maneuver.

The most obvious use of landing is when, after you’ve moved, you realize you are getting closer to the edge than you like. You can elect to land, which means you’ll be able to pivot on the following turn, and you’ll be able to avoid an embarrassing death.

Pivoting is fairly powerful, especially if the creature pivoting is a higher level, as it lets you choose your facing after lower level creatures have moved.

However, it also prevents you from taking an action that turn and makes you easier to hit, so if your opponent(s) are paying attention, they can position themselves to they’ll be able to take advantage of the bonus attack die they get against you.

For example, if I know your only real choice is to pivot on this turn, I might decide it’s the right time to use my Haste upgrade, because Haste’s -1 attack die will be cancelled out by the +1 I gain because you pivoted, allowing me two attacks at full value.

Alternatively, if I have a Frost Giant out, I could use the Poison Blade or Frost Battle Axe to gain a +1 attack die in addition to the +1 attack die I will get for attacking a creature that just pivoted, for a total roll of 6 attack dice.

So while pivoting might be a great move, as it allows you to choose your facing, it can hurt if your opponent can maneuver two or three creatures into attack range.

You want to force your opponent to make a choice.

Your opponent has positioned Balagos so that both of your dragons are going to be in range of his Fire Breath, letting him roll a five die attack, that penetrates armor, against each of your dragons (six if you’ve wounded Balagos!).

If you land one of your dragons, you will force your opponent to have to choose which of your dragons to hit, as most area affect upgrades are either ground or air, but not both. By landing, you immediately cause Balagos to lose five (or six) attack dice (he can only attack one of you, not both), and you force the opponent to have to decide which of your dragons to attack.

You’ll want to try to make sure the dragon you’re landing will still get an attack. If Balagos is flying and your dragon has landed, you won’t be able to attack Balagos with a melee attack.

You want to dodge an attack.

If your opponents attackers do not have any ready ranged attacks, landing may prevent them from attacking you at all! They may have forgotten to swoop and might not be able to reach you if you land.

Ok, you’ve landed, what now?

Don’t forget to switch to the ground maneuver dial!


See you in the skies!


  1. Thanks for the tactical summary of landing! I guess the only benefit to swooping over landing is that you can still perform an additional action?

  2. If you’re swooping, you can melee either air or ground (assuming you’re in range). If you were also Hasted that turn, you could melee one creature in the air and another on the ground (again, assuming you’re in range).

    Landing also means you will have to use the ground maneuver dial on the next turn, and dragons are far less agile on the ground!

    • Good point on the haste. I understood the melee on ground or air for swooping, but if you have haste that could help…

      (ok, after trying to type my thoughts out 3 times, I think I understand)… if a dragon lands, they must spend the next move on land, before they can fly again…so if they land, they are stuck using the land movement dial for at least 1 turn. it’s not as fluid as I thought… I forgot about the timing, and thought that a dragon could declare it’s altitude BEFORE moving…. which is wrong.

  3. That right, Sean. It’s move, then declare a change in altitude (if you’re capable of doing so).