Dungeons and Dragons: Attack Wing FAQ (3/26/15)

Update: There’s already been an update to the FAQ and we’ve moved it to a new permanent place: http://dndaw.com/faq

The Dungeons and Dragons Attack Wing FAQ has been released on the Wizkids Rules Forum.. It’s a PDF, which isn’t the easiest thing to search, so I’m also making it available here. All rights are, of course, reserved for Wizards of the Coast and Wizkids.


  1. What happens when a rule in the Quick Start Rulebook contradicts the rules in the full Rulebook?
    Use the rules in the full Rulebook. The Quick Start Rulebook is only meant as a general introduction to the game system.
  2. Do you remove a Duration Token from an Upgrade Card during the very first round that the Continuous Effect begins? What about Duration Tokens on face up Damage Cards?
    Yes, during the End Phase you remove 1 Duration Token from every Upgrade Card and Damage Card that possesses one, even if the Duration Tokens were just placed recently.
  3. What happens when a creature receives a second copy of the same Effect Token?
    A Creature cannot possess more than one copy of the same Effect Token. Any ability that would place a duplicate copy of an Effect Token on a creature is ignored.
  4. If a creature is not permitted to roll defense dice against a particular attack, can it still use a Dodge Token?
    No. Whenever an effect prohibits a target from rolling any defense dice (e.g. Magic Missile), then both the Roll Defense Dice and Modify Defense Dice steps of combat are skipped. Therefore, no action tokens, including Dodge Tokens, can be spent to avoid such an attack.
    This is different than when an effect simply reduces the number of defense dice to 0 (e.g. from an effect that forces you to roll “-1 defense die”). In this case, the Roll Defense Dice and Modify Defense Dice steps still occur, and action tokens can still be spent as normal.
  5. Does Energy Resistance still apply when a player is unable to roll defense dice or when action tokens cannot be spent?
    Yes, this is an exception to the previous rule. Energy Resistance provides an automatic Dodge result against Upgrade attacks of a particular Energy type, regardless of whether or not the defender is permitted to roll defense dice. Energy Resistance applies even if the attack occurs outside the Combat Phase and even if action tokens cannot be spent during the attack.
  6. The rulebook states that a creature’s Primary Weapon attacks are not considered to be a particular Energy type. What about an Upgrade Attack that specifies that it is a Primary Weapon attack of a particular Energy type?
    If an Upgrade Attack identifies itself as being a Primary Weapon attack of a particular Energy type, then that supersedes the general rule about Primary Weapons not being of a particular Energy type.
  7. Several cards refer to a creature’s “Action Bar.” Where is this located?
    A creature’s “Action Bar” is the row of Action Icons listed on its creature card. It does not include any “Action:” abilities included in the creature’s card text.
  8. If something affects all creatures on the same “play level,” or can only affect creatures on the same play level as the attacker, what happens if one or more creatures are swooping?
    There are only two play levels: ground and air. A swooping creature is always considered to be in the air. This prohibits swooping creature from making certain attacks, such as Tail Sweep and Cleave, against creatures on the ground, since these attacks require the attacker to be on the same play level as the defenders.
  9. When an effect has the ability to trigger “immediately” after a certain condition is met, can you do something else before triggering the ability?
    No, you must trigger the ability immediately or not at all. If you trigger another ability, then it is too late for you to trigger the first ability. However, it is possible for both players to trigger an effect “immediately” after a certain condition is met. If the order matters, then the active player’s effect triggers first.
  10. Can you use the “Flight vs. Ground Overlapping Advantage” to fly over multiple ground creatures in a row?
  11. When using the “Flight vs. Ground Overlapping Advantage”, when do I apply the Straight Maneuver Template?
    As per the rulebook, page 27:
    “If moving past the other figure, use one of the [Straight] Maneuver Templates to continue the flying creature’s move past the other figure, even if it was using a [Bank] or [Turn] when it bumped the ground figure.”
    The word “continue” is meant to imply that you still use the original template, but use the [Straight] template just to keep going until you make it past to the other side.
    Keep in mind that this is optional. The flying creature can choose to stop in front of the ground creature if it chooses.
  12. Does the “Flight vs. Ground Overlapping Advantage” work when Feinting?
    No. As per the rulebook, your Feint Action fails if you cannot place your creature without overlapping another creature or obstacle.
  13. Can you intentionally attack one of your own creatures?
    Yes, unless the attack specifies that it must be used against an “enemy” creature.
  14. When attacking my own creature, can I spend my Target Token to re-roll my attack dice?
  15. What happens if an attack is declared and the target is out of range?
    If there is no one in range of a declared attack, then the attack fails. All costs, including Duration Tokens, are still paid.
  16. If a creature receives an Exhaustion Token, does it retain action tokens that it received earlier in the round?
  17. If a creature is unable to perform Actions, can it still spend Action Tokens (e.g. from Actions taken earlier in the round)?
    Yes. Spending an Action Token is not the same thing as performing an Action.
  18. What happens if an armored creature is hit with critical damage and the face up Damage Card deals additional damage (e.g. “Double Damage”)? Does the creature’s Armor deflect the new damage?
    No. Damage is inflicted during the Deal Damage step, which means it’s too late to deflect the extra damage with Armor (which is deflected during the previous step).
  19. If I spend a Charge Token, do I receive +1 attack die on all melee attacks in my forward arc this round, including extra attacks granted by Close Quarters and similar Upgrades?
  20. Do I receive the bonus attack dice from Charge even if my figure bumps another figure and I don’t actually move forward at all?
  21. Can an effect that adds attack dice modify an attack that does not actually roll attack dice (e.g. Eshaedra + Magic Missile)?
  22. If an ability triggers “after you move,” does this include movement resulting from spending a Charge Token or using Upgrades like Flyby Attack?
    No, this only refers to your normal movement during the Activation phase. It triggers specifically after the Clean Up step.
  23. Some special abilities require a player to roll a fixed number of defense dice to determine the outcome of an effect (for example, the Dracolich’s Paralyzing Touch or attacking an ally while Charmed). When rolling a fixed number of defense dice, can the number of defense dice be increased or decreased by special abilities?
    No, when a card like Charm or Paralyzing Touch mentions that a specific number of defense dice are to be rolled to determine the outcome of an effect, then that number of dice cannot be altered. One partial exception to this rule is Dragonfly the Grey, whose text allows him to re-roll 1 blank result each time he rolls the defense dice. His ability would be effective in this situation.
  24. When measuring the effect range of a Burst Token, do you measure from the center of the Burst Token, or from the sides?
    The sides.
  25. Do the targets of a Burst attack receive the Defensive Combat Bonus for being at Range 4 from the attacker?
    Yes, as long as the target is at Range 4 (or greater) from the attacking creature.


  1. Does Eshaedra receive her bonus attack die when making a Burst Attack such as Fireball?
    Yes. In this case, it is the distance from Eshaedra to the target creature that matters.
  2. Must Incorporeal creatures make Overrun Checks?
    Yes. Consider that a living being might present greater resistance to a spirit than a wall would.
  3. What is the timing for the Wraith’s Create Spawn?
    The new Wraith is placed during the End Phase when the defeated creature is removed from play. That is why the term “killing blow” was used rather than “lethal damage.”
  4. Can Calamity be damaged by attacks that “ignore” Armor?
    Yes. Calamity is only protected from attacks that specifically say that they “penetrate” Armor.
  5. The Human Paladin creature cards (“Ontharr Frume” and “Hand of Fury”) list different Actions on their Action Bar than the Actions listed on their corresponding creature tokens. Which are correct?
    The Actions listed on the creature cards are correct: Dodge, Charge, & Concentrate.
  6. Can Vakka grant her free action to herself?
  7. Can you combine Drizzt’s ability with that of the Warhorse?
    No, since you can only have one immediate effect trigger from the same condition. This is a reversal of a previous ruling.
  8. If Tiamat uses her unique ability in conjunction with Close Quarters, will her -2 penalty apply to her Claw attacks as well (for a total penalty of -4 attack dice during each Claw attack)?
  9. If Tiamat attacks first with Bigby’s Hand, must she roll -2 attack dice if she plans to use her special ability afterwards? If not, what about the other order?
    If you attack with Bigby’s Hand at full attack dice, you will be unable to use Tiamat’s special ability. It affects all of your attacks during that round.


  1. If a player tries to place a soldier (accidentally or intentionally) in a space where it cannot fit, that soldier becomes “pressed” as per the rulebook. Can the player continue to attempt to place soldiers in that same space in order to purposefully press more soldiers?
    No. Once it is established that a soldier cannot fit in a particular position, the player cannot intentionally place future soldiers in that position. Of course, if there are no open spaces in any direction, then the player will be forced to press the remainder of his soldiers.
  2. Can you use healing effects to restore lost soldiers to a Troop?
  3. Are individual soldiers within a Troop considered to be separate creatures? Or is the entire Troop considered one creature?
    A Troop (consisting of all soldiers) is considered one creature. A soldier is an individual unit within the Troop. So Close Quarters would allow multiple attacks against the same Troop. Create Spawn only works when the last soldier in the Troop is defeated.


  1. What happens when you lose an Upgrade such as the Silver Staff, which grants another Upgrade slot? Do you lose the additional Upgrade?
    No. Once the game begins, your Upgrade slots are set.
  2. If an Upgrade says that “you can only equip one other Weapon Upgrade or a Shield Upgrade,” does this mean that you are limited to only one other Upgrade for this creature, or does it mean that you can take either another Weapon or a Shield plus any other Upgrades the creature may be entitled to in order to fill its Upgrade slots?
    This means that the creature can have a maximum of two weapons or one weapon and one shield. You can fill out its other Upgrades however you see fit.
  3. If an Upgrade permits a player to make multiple attacks (e.g. Haste, Rapid Reload), can you choose to attack the same creature more than once? Can you instead choose to attack two different creatures? If so, do you have to declare both before rolling, or can you do one attack, and then do the second one after you see the result?
    Unless otherwise specified, you can divide the attacks however you like. You can wait to see how the first attack goes before declaring your second target.
  4. Many Upgrade Attacks, such as Sleep Breath, require you to place Duration Tokens on the card regardless of whether you succeed at the attack, and the Continuous Effect on the card includes the text: “When this Effect ends for any reason, discard this card.” If the attack misses, is the Upgrade still discarded when the last Duration Token is removed?
    No, you can keep the Upgrade and try again. The Continuous Effect only triggers if it at least one creature receives an Effect Token.
    Additionally, it is possible that one or more creatures will end the effect prematurely (due to Legendary Resistance, being woken up, etc.); if this occurs, do not discard the Upgrade until the Continuous Effect has ended for all creatures.
  5. Invisibility states that “no player can spend their Target Token against you.” Is this only for the purpose of re-rolling dice, or does it prevent spending the token to initiate other effects such as Magic Missile?
    It prevents spending the Target Token in all circumstances, including to initiate other effects such as Magic Missile.
  6. Do you have control over when to place Damage Cards beneath False Life?
    No, you must add the first 2 Damage Cards that you receive. Remember that you must resolve normal hits before resolving critical hits.
  7. Do I suffer the critical effects of Damage Cards placed beneath False Life?
  8. Does damage applied to False Life count as the creature being damaged for purposes of scenario rules and card effects like System Shock?
    Yes, but the creature itself is not considered to retain the actual Damage Cards, which is important for the text of creatures such as Balagos.
  9. Can you heal the Damage Cards beneath False Life?
  10. Can I use Legendary Resistance to immediately negate the effects of an Effect Token or face up Damage Card that my creature has received?
    Yes, if you activate Legendary Resistance immediately, then you suffer no effects at all from that particular Effect Token or Damage Card.
  11. Does Artillery Master allow me to choose which dice to re-roll?
  12. If I make a Primary Weapon Melee attack, do the effects of Frost Battle Axe and Holy Warhammer stack?
    Yes, you are considered to be dual wielding if you choose to activate both Upgrades during the same attack.
  13. When using Suggestion against a creature, can you choose “no Action” or “no attack”?
  14. The Fly Spell says that I can choose to use the Flight Maneuver Dial at the start of the Planning Phase, even if I’m not currently flying. Does doing so make me flying (do I put the Flight token next to my base?) If I do so, can I then land after I move?
    Yes and yes.
  15. If a creature in the air has an unrevealed Flight Maneuver Dial when it is targeted by Challenge, can it choose to land, or must it swoop? If it can land, does it just execute its Flight Maneuver on the ground, or does something else happen?
    In this case, the creature would receive a Ground token but would still execute the maneuver on the Flight Maneuver Dial as if the creature were on the ground (i.e. no “Flight vs. Ground Overlapping Advantage”).


  1.  Can Campaign Artifacts be used in standard games, including Organized Play events?
    You can use Campaign Artifacts in standard games, including Organized Play events, as long as each player has a maximum of 1 Campaign Artifact in his or her Legion.
  2. The reference card for the Adornments of Tiamat says I can use multiple Artifacts of Tiamat. Is this still restricted to the unique rule, or can I have, for example, 3 Scales of Tiamat in my legion?
    Each Artifact is unique, so you cannot include multiples of the same Artifact in your legion.
  3. Can you include only one type of Artifact in your Legion build, meaning you cannot have both Tiamat and Bahamut Artifacts in your Legion?
    Correct, you can only have Tiamat or Bahamut Artifacts in your Legion. Moreover, you cannot have any other Campaign Artifacts in your Legion at the same time.
  4. Does the Aerobat Amulet negate the effects of the “Crippled” Damage Card?


  1. Should each player use their own Damage Deck during an OP Event?
    This is ultimately up to the venue, but the rules suggest that both players use the same Damage Deck.
  2. Does creating a Wraith through the Create Spawn Upgrade give you an advantage when determining Scenario Point totals?
    No. A Wraith that enters play due to Create Spawn does not count as part of a player’s Legion Remainder. The new Wraith is considered an extension of the original Wraith who used the Upgrade, which is why it dies if the original Wraith dies.
  3. When determining Scenario Point totals, how do you count Upgrades equipped at a reduced cost?
    Use the discounted rate. So for Arveiaturace, the opponent would subtract 0 LP due to Close Quarters.
  4. When determining Scenario Point totals, how do you count partially eliminated Troops?
    Use the Legion Points showing on the current topmost Troop Token. Therefore, Limnen’s ability can be an effective way to deny your opponent Scenario Points.
  5. How exactly does Legion creation work in relation to 90 / 30 tournaments with blind boosters?
    You bring your 90 point Legion to the event. You then receive your blind booster, and can build up to 30 points from the booster. Upgrades cannot be swapped between your 90 point Legion and your blind booster. You cannot alter your 90 point Legion after receiving your blind booster.
  6. When time is called for a battle and both players have creatures remaining and also have the same number of Scenario Points, how is this handled?
    In this rare case, the players should each roll an equal number of dice, and victory for the round should be given to the player who rolls the most Concentrate results. If this situation occurs when determining the winner of a tournament, the venue may elect to do a final showdown between the two players to determine victory.
  7. In OP Adventure #3 (Poisoning the Well), if both players choose the same color die, are they able to pull vials from either side?
  8. In OP Adventure #3 (Poisoning the Well), if both players choose a different color die, can they pull vials from their opponent’s supply base?
    You can take either vial, but you can only hold 1 type of vial at a time, and you cannot drop a vial into the well unless it matches your side (poison or antidote). In other words, if you choose to pick up the wrong vial type, you will not be able to drop it until your creature is defeated.

Duration Tokens

dragonflyDragonfly finished casting his Control Weather spell and a small look of satisfaction slid across his face as the attackers, a pair of small Black Shadow Dragon siblings, were forced to the ground. His own allies, a Harpy Archer and Angelic Paladin (he shook his head, still unsure that anyone would believe the story of how he became allied with such creatures*) were safely behind him and the force of the storm.

“Ready yourselves,” he called to his allies, “they won’t be able to take off again until they leave the storm or it ends.”

The angel nodded sagely and the harpy screeched in what Dragonfly could only assume was agreement.

The larger of the two black shadow dragons hissed at the storm, flapping in a vain attempt to lift off once again.

Its smaller sister prepared to turn and walk out of the storm’s reach, using a wing to keep the wind and rain out of her eyes. “Stop that, idiot! We need to move before that druid uses Call Lightning.”

“Why?” asked the brother.

“Because the lightning will be stronger under this weather spell.”

“Oh,” said her brother, “how long does it last?”

“I don’t know!” she yelled, “Ask the druid!”

He did. The druid looked surprised, but not as surprised as his two allies as he started to answer the dragon. “It gets two duration tokens!” he called out.

The bigger black shadow dragon turned back to his sister, “Three turns!”

His sister shook her head, “It’s only two turns, doofus. The rest of this turn, and all of next turn.”

“But he just cast the spell!” called her brother.

The smaller black shadow dragon sighed, her brother was always embarrassing her, “It works just like Shadow Breath!”

“No, that gets three tokens!” he yelled back.

She face-winged and called to the druid, “Maybe you can explain it? He won’t listen to me.”

The druid took a step forward but was interrupted by the angel’s shout of protest, “You’re kidding?! You’re going to explain yourself to him?”

The druid stepped forward and began drawing a few large rectangles in the dirt in front of him, “Of course. I’m neutral!”

The harpy shook her head, and may have face-palmed if not for her claws.

“Listen carefully,” the druid called out, “When you use your Shadow Breath, you place 3 Duration Tokens on it, correct?” He drew three hourglass figures on one of the rectangles and glanced up.

The large dragon nodded; of course he knew that, it took three turns before it was ready again, everyone knew that!

“Well,” continued Dragonfly, “When I cast Control Weather, I place 2 Duration Tokens on it,” he drew two hourglasses on the next rectangle, “See?”

He looked up again as the dragon answered, “Yes …”

“They work the same,” his sister said impatiently, “like I’ve told you before.”

Her brother shook his head, “No, I put my tokens down ‘Afterwards.'”

She sighed, and looked around, hoping no other dragons could see them.

“Your sister is right,” called out the druid, “In both cases, we place our Duration Tokens down as we use the Upgrade.”

“But …” the larger dragon started, “your spell has a Continuous Effect!”

“All that means is that my Upgrade keeps doing something while the Duration Tokens are on it. The spell keeps working. Your Breath Weapon is only different in that it does not keep doing something. In both cases, we remove one Duration Token at the end of the turn, from each Upgrade card that has Duration Tokens.”

The angel had to admit he was impressed by how patient the druid was. He prepared to charge the dragon.

The dragon slowly nodded at the druid, “Ok, ok. But not on your first turn.”

“So close…” said his sister.

The druid looked thoughtful for a moment, “Why do you think that would be true?” he asked.

“You had to disable it,” the dragon declared.

“… and yet so far,” his sister muttered, she considered using her Shadow Breath on both of them, but she was sure the Druid was out of range.

“I think I see the confusion,” said the druid, “Disabling the Upgrade is irrelevant. It just means I would have to spend an extra action to prepare to use the spell again, which would be silly in this case, since the Upgrade goes away when the Continuous Effect ends! Which is what happens when the last Duration Token is removed. During the End Phase, you remove 1 Duration Token from each Upgrade Card.”

The dragon seemed to think it over, “So, you will remove one Duration Token from it at the end of this turn, then the last one from it at the end of next turn, and then the spell ends AND the Upgrade goes away.”

His sister gasped, “You’ve got it! And it doesn’t matter when you put the Duration Tokens on the Upgrade Card, you always remove one from each Upgrade Card during the End Phase!”

The Druid smiled. He’d always quite enjoyed teaching, “Well done. Keep in mind that I could have, if I wanted, used my Staff of the Woodlands to add an extra Duration Token to the card.”

His sister rolled her eyes, “Don’t confuse him more!”

“No, I get it!” the larger Dragon exclaimed, “You would have Disabled the Staff and gotten to put 3 Duration Tokens on the Control Weather Upgrade card instead of 2! It just would have lasted 1 extra turn! If I used my breath on you right now, and you used the staff, we would both put three Duration Tokens down and both remove one at the end of this turn!”

“Why didn’t you?” asked the sister.

The angel turned to the druid, “That’s a good question. You won’t get to recast it since it goes away when the Effect ends.”

The druid looked a little embarrassed, “I forgot I could, actually.”

The harpy snorted.

“It’s been a long day …” Dragonfly grumbled.

The harpy nodded in agreement. It had been a long day**.

The two dragons put their heads together and whispered to each other, the brother slowly nodding at the sister.

The brother turned suddenly back towards the druid, drawing in a deep breath. The druid braced for the necrotic energy of a Shadow Breath.

“We concede.” the larger shadow dragon said.

“You … concede?” stammered the druid.

“You have no idea how long I’ve been trying to explain this. THANK you” his sister responded, “Let’s go, Reggie.”

Both dragons turned and quickly moved across the battle area.

“What just happened?” asked the Angel, “Where are you going?”

The brother leaped into the air and shouted back, “We saw some bird people!”

His sister followed, but hesitated to call back to them, “He means the Aarakocra. I’m going to try to explain how Area Effects work with Troops!”

The strange allies watched the Black Shadow Dragon siblings fly off, quickly losing them against the night sky.

“Well,” said Dragonfly, “that was … odd. Shall we build a campfire?”

The angel sighed and hung his Holy Warhammer from his belt, “Druid,” he began, “How did you know the second one was female?”

Dragonfly turned to look at the angel, “I’m a druid.”


* a story for another time.
** another story for another time.